How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Georgia?

Learn more about real estate licensing and get exclusive offers

How Much Does It Cost to Get a Georgia Real Estate License?

Thinking about getting your Georgia real estate license? Wondering how much the process will set you back? The short answer is that applicants can expect to pay at least $616 to get a license and $250 to keep it active every four years.

Here’s how the cost of getting a Georgia salesperson license breaks down.

Real Estate Courses: $300+

The first step in getting a Georgia salesperson license is completing your pre-licensing education. Georgia requires 75 hours of pre-licensing education, but you can complete your coursework a few different ways:

  • By taking a course with a real estate school that’s been approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC). Coursework can be done online or in a classroom.
  • By taking a course with an out-of-state school that provides an equivalent agency-approved salesperson course.
  • By taking 10 quarter hours or six semester hours in real estate topics at an accredited college, university, or law school in the U.S. or Canada.

Fees for pre-licensing courses vary depending on the school and the package you choose: some offer perks like free practice exams or interactive learning options.

Online providers will be the cheapest and most flexible, while a university or law school is probably the most expensive option.

Background Check: $25+

The Georgia Real Estate Commission requires that Georgia residents provide a Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) report with their application. GCIC reports are available at most police stations and sheriff’s offices, and the cost is generally $25.

Applicants that live outside of Georgia must get a report from their home state that’s the equivalent to the GCIC or a National Crime Information Center (NCIC) report. You’ll also have to get an NCIC report if you have charges or convictions in multiple states. The cost for these reports will vary by state.

Exam Fee: $121

The fee for the Georgia salesperson exam is $121. Hopefully you only have to pay that once! But there are a few reasons you might be required to pay a second exam fee.

For example, if you: Reschedule the exam date more than once Reschedule less than two business days before your scheduled exam Fail to show up on your scheduled day Show up more than 15 minutes late to the test Don’t have the proper IDs and documents on exam day Fail and have to retake the exam

License Application Fee: $170-$340

It may be a simple piece of paper, but a Georgia real estate license is not cheap. The license fee is $170 if you apply within 90 days of passing the exam. It’s wise to apply quickly because, after 90 days, the license fee doubles to $340. Dawdling will cost you!

On the bright side, the fee covers your licensure for four years.

Continuing Education Fee: $150-250+

After you get your license, there’s still more to pay for, in the form of continuing education and renewal fees.

New agents have to complete 25 hours of post-licensing education in their first year. Online real estate schools usually offer the course for around $99.

In addition to the post-licensing education, all agents must take nine hours of continuing education a year, or a total of 36 hours every four-year renewal period. The post-licensing education does count toward an agent’s CE, but only for nine hours.

Individual 3-hour courses (including the mandatory License Law course) can be completed online for $20-$40 a piece. There are also complete CE packages for $150-160.

Renewal Fee: $100+

Every four years you have to renew your real estate license to keep it active. In addition to meeting the continuing education requirement, you’ll also have to pay a renewal fee.

The current renewal fees for Georgia are: $125 for an on-time paper renewal, or $100 if you renew online $100 additional reinstatement fee if you renew up to four months after license expiration— every additional month after four is another $25 up, to five years If you let your license lapse five years, you have to redo your pre-licensing education and retake the exam.

Miscellaneous Fees

The fees above are the absolute essentials that must be paid to get a license and keep it. Along the way there may be a few other expenses, like: Sample salesperson exams: $15-$25 Duplicate Certification of Accuracy Statement: $3.50-$15, depending on how requested Local realtor association annual fee: $100-$500, depending on the location National Association of Realtors annual fee: $150

Marketing materials are another expense that real estate agents have to budget for right from the beginning. Those expenses can range from zero to thousands of dollars. It all depends on the marketing channels you use and the support you get through your broker.

Wondering if it’s worth it? Find out how much money real estate agents in Georgia make.