Real estate is one of the best businesses to be in if you live in Georgia. The average annual income for Georgia real estate agents is close to the average household income, and there’s an opportunity to earn even more.
Before you can start cashing commission checks, you have to get a Georgia salesperson license. Here’s what you’ve got to do to become an active agent.
8 Steps to Getting a Real Estate License in Georgia
- Step 1 - Be at Least 18 Years Old
- Step 2 - Get a High School Diploma or the Equivalent
- Step 3 - Meet One of the Education Requirements
- Step 4 - Pass a Background Check
- Step 5 - Apply to Take the Exam and Pay the Fee
- Step 6 - Pass the Exam
- Step 7 - Find a Broker
- Step 8 - Apply for Your Salesperson License and Pay the Fee
Step 1 - Be at Least 18 Years Old
Technically, you can be 17 years old when you start the process, but you have to be at least 18 to get a Georgia real estate license.
Step 2 - Get a High School Diploma or the Equivalent
In addition to being at least 18, having a high school diploma or the equivalent is a minimum requirement.
Step 3 - Meet One of the Education Requirements
Graduating from high school isn’t the only education requirement. The Georgia Real Estate Commission also requires that all applicants meet one of following:
- Complete a 75-hour salesperson pre-license course at a school approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission.
- Did you already complete a salesperson course in another state? Then all you have to do is provide proof that you passed an agency approved salesperson course equal to at least 75 hours along with a letter from the agency stating the course was approved. Courses in Canada provinces may also count towards the education requirement.
- College courses can also be credited. You must have successfully completed at least 10 quarter hours or 6 semester hours of real estate courses at an accredited college, university or law school in the U.S. or Canada. Transcripts must be included with your exam application.
Step 4 - Pass a Background Check
Georgia law states that “only persons who bear a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to transact real estate appraisal activity and/or the business of a licensee,” will be granted a license. To make that determination, the Georgia Real Estate Commission requires a background check.
Applicants living in the state will have to get a Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) report. You can pick up a report at a local police station or sheriff's office. Out-of-state applicants must get the equivalent in their current state or a National Crime Information Center [NCIC] report.
Timing is everything with the GCIC report. It must be generated less than 60 days before you apply for a license.
Step 5 - Apply to Take the Exam and Pay the Fee
Once you complete the salesperson courses and pass the background check it’s time to apply to take the examination! Just a little bit more studying to do before getting that license.
The Georgia salesperson exam is provided by Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP). To apply for the exam you’ll need to provide proof that you’ve met the education requirements (anyone enrolled in a Commission-approved real estate school will have their results automatically sent to AMP). The exam fee must also be paid before you can take the test.
You can apply online at goAMP.com if you took the pre-license courses at an approved real estate school. Everyone else will have to mail in the Georgia Real Estate Examination Form.
Once you’re approved to take the exam you can schedule a test time online at goAMP.com or by calling 800-345-6559. There are four testing centers in Duluth, Macon, Marietta, and Savannah. These are the only places where you can take the exam.
Step 6 - Pass the Exam
The Georgia salesperson licensing exam is a computerized test with 152 multiple-choice questions that are scored using the Angoff method. There's a national portion and a state portion that can be taken together or separately if you’ve already passed one portion.
You’ll have four hours to complete both sections. At the end of the test, you’ll receive a score report letting you know if you passed.
Step 7 - Find a Sponsoring Broker
Is a broker absolutely essential for getting a salesperson license in Georgia? No, but it is if you actually want to use the license. In order to apply for an active salesperson license, you’ll need a sponsoring broker.
Once you find the right broker they’ll need to complete the Sponsoring Broker Statement, which is submitted with your license application.
Step 8 - Apply for Your Salesperson License and Pay the Fee
Finally, the moment has arrived. You can apply for a real estate salesperson license!
Did you get a broker lined up before taking the exam? Great! If you take the exam in the morning and bring your Sponsoring Broker Statement you may be able to apply and get an active license right after passing the test.
Real estate licenses are only issued at PSI Test Centers. Applications are processed between 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m Monday through Friday. In addition to the completed application you’ll need:
- A photo I.D.
- Unsigned Certification of Accuracy (COA) Statement with photo
- Sponsoring Broker Statement Form
- GCIC report or another acceptable criminal history report
- Signed and Notarized Lawful Presence Affidavit
- Payment for the licensing fee
It’s important to find a broker and get your application in sooner rather than later. If you apply for a salesperson license within three months of passing the exam the license fee is just $170. Applying passed three months will double the application fee to $340! Even if you haven’t found a broker yet, it’s a better financial move to go ahead and apply for an inactive license ASAP.
If you fail to apply for either an inactive or active license within 12 months you’ll have to retake the exam. Get everything lined up in advance and you can be working as a Georgia real estate agent within days of passing the exam!