Realtor Designation Meanings

You worked hard to pass your online real estate courses and the licensing exam. Then came continuing education that keeps your game sharp. Now it’s time to start earning some Realtor designations and certifications!

With all the acronyms, it can be difficult to figure out which designation will give your business the biggest boost. This quick rundown of common Realtor designations can help you narrow the selection.

Accredited Buyer's Representative / ABR®

Show buyers they can trust you with the biggest investment of their life. The ABR designation is one of the first designations many Realtors get because it provides a strong foundation for working one-on-one with buyers.

Certified Residential Specialist® / CRS®

The residential market is a unique entity with aspects unlike other real estate niches. The CRS program focuses solely on elements of residential real estate to further an Realtor’s knowledge beyond the basic curriculum. It’s also the highest designation a residential Realtor can earn.

Couple looking at their house

e-PRO® Certification

Get up-to-date on the latest technological advancements that are impacting the real estate industry with the e-Pro Certification. You’ll also learn how buyers and sellers are using technology to find Realtors.

Graduate, REALTOR® Institute / GRI

The GRI designation tells potential clients you’re a Realtor that values education. As the name suggests, it’s like graduate school for Realtors. You’ll get in-depth instruction on a variety of real estate topics including legal matters and the sales process.

Nailing a listing interview is a lot easier when you have SRS credentials. It’s the designation of choice for listing agents that focus their energy on working with sellers. This Real Estate Business Institute (REBI) designation will show you how to effectively market yourself and homes.

Seniors Real Estate Specialist / SRES®

The 50+ age group is one of the fastest growing markets across the U.S. Sign up for the SRES program to learn how to serve this unique segment as they enter a new stage in life.

In addition to the National Association of Realtors (NAR) and REBI designations above, each state has the ability to create certification programs of their own. They’re often more localized and address skills that are needed within state markets.


Want to know more about being a real estate agent?