Colorado Pre-License Courses: What You Need to Know


A lot of people want to live in Colorado – and why not? Hiking, canoeing, skiing – it’s all there, and it’s all leading to Denver becoming one of the best places to be a real estate agent. So, are you considering getting your real estate broker license in Colorado? Here’s what you need to know about that crucial first step: meeting the pre-license course requirements.

How Long Do the Colorado Pre-License Courses Take?

Your time commitment will depend on your background, so you can check your specific education requirements on the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies website

For now, we’ll assume that you’ve never had a real estate broker license before. In this case, there are two options to meet the education requirements needed to become a real estate broker in Colorado. Your first option is to earn a degree from an accredited college or university with a major in real estate studies. The other option is to complete 168 hours of classroom or online education from an accredited institution. 

What’s Covered in the 168-Hour Course Time?

Those 168 hours of required classroom or online education break down into six courses. Each of these courses covers specific topics and can take anywhere from 8-48 hours to complete. 

They break down like this:

  • Real Estate Law and Practice - 48 hours

  • Colorado Contracts and Regulations - 48 hours

  • Trust Accounts and Recordkeeping - 8 hours

  • Current Legal Issues - 8 hours

  • Real Estate Closings - 24 hours

  • Practical Applications - 32 hours

I know – it’s a lot of hours. Still, the courses are designed to ensure that every Colorado pre-license student understands the concepts, laws, and contracts that they’ll need to be familiar with in order to be a successful real estate agent. Plus, all those classroom hours will help prepare you for your licensing exam!

Do I Qualify for a Colorado Real Estate License?

Before you sign up for a course, you’ll probably want to make sure you qualify! To be a real estate broker in Colorado, you’ll need to:

  • Be at least 18 years old

  • Meet the education requirements (degree from a college/university or complete 168 classroom hours)

  • Pass both the state and national parts of the licensing exam

  • Provide fingerprints for a background check

Is it Difficult?

While courses will vary in difficulty, the licensing exam you’ll take after completing your education requirement isn’t too bad! According to the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, about 70% of exam takers passed on their first try in 2021.

You can find more information about what’s covered in the exam, as well as how to register to take it, on the PSI website here

So, are you ready to start the journey to becoming a real estate broker in Colorado? Sign up for Aceable’s pre-license course today!

Want to get your Real Estate License? Begin your Pre-Licensing Course today!

Get Started Now!
Lauren Summerlin


Want to know more about being a real estate agent?