What States Have Real Estate Reciprocity with North Carolina?

Looking for a way to take control of your career and income? If so, now is a good time to consider becoming a real estate agent in North Carolina.

But what if you already have a valid real estate license and are thinking of moving to North Carolina? Do you have to go through the whole licensing process over again? This post discusses which states have real estate reciprocity with North Carolina and what you need to do to get your North Carolina real estate license.

Need Your North Carolina Real Estate License?

If you recently moved and need to get licensed in North Carolina, AceableAgent is 100% online and can be taken from anywhere, anytime!

States that Have Reciprocity with North Carolina

North Carolina no longer has reciprocity with any other specific states. On February 29, 2012, it ended its reciprocity agreement with the following states:

  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Nebraska
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • West Virginia

Instead, the state moved to what it calls a "limited license recognition" agreement with every other state in the United States. This agreement extends to U.S. territories and Canadian provinces. What's more, the applicant's place of residence is not a factor in getting a North Carolina real estate license.

Licensees who wish to engage in buying or selling real estate in North Carolina can obtain their NC license by passing the “state” section of the license examination; they do not have to repeat the general pre-licensing coursework.

How Do You Get a North Carolina Real Estate License?

North Carolina has streamlined the process for people who already hold a real estate license in the U.S., its territories, and Canada. But what if you want to become a real estate agent in North Carolina and don't already have a license?

In that case, you'll need to start the process from scratch.

In order to become a real estate agent, you'll need to be licensed by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission (NCREC). The requirements are as follows:

  1. You are at least 18 years of age
  2. You are a U.S. citizen (or have authorization to work in the U.S. real estate industry)
  3. You have a valid Social Security number.
  4. You take a 75-hour, NCREC-approved pre-licensure course.
  5. You submit yourself to a criminal background check.
  6. You officially apply to become a North Carolina real estate agent.
  7. You take the licensing exam to get your provisional broker's license.
  8. You work under the supervision of a real estate broker and take a 90-hour post-licensing course within 18 months of receiving your provisional broker's license.

While some states differentiate between an ordinary real estate agent license and a broker's license, all real estate agents in North Carolina become brokers once they complete all the steps above.

Interested in Becoming a North Carolina Real Estate Agent?

AceableAgent has an NCREC-approved pre-licensure course you can take from the comfort of home. We also offer different levels of instruction, including an option with live tutoring — you'll have everything you need to ace the exam.

Learn more about North Carolina real estate careers and get exclusive offers