What do you have to do before you can start earning big money as a North Carolina real estate agent? Let’s take a look!
Make Sure That You Qualify
Before you get started with your North Carolina pre-licensing education, make sure you qualify to be a real estate agent. You must:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Be a legal resident of the United States
- Have a social security number
- Meet the North Carolina Real Estate Commission’s character requirements
75-Hour North Carolina Broker Pre-licensing Course
There’s only one course to take in North Carolina before you can take the state licensing exam. It’s called the 75-Hour North Carolina Broker Pre-licensing Course and it’s, you guessed it, 75 hours of pre-licensing education. Don’t let the “broker” part of that throw you off: in North Carolina, licensees are called brokers.
This course covers everything from the basics of real estate theory to contracts to agency to closings. It’s a great introduction to the principles and practices of real estate.
Other Education Options
There are a few alternate ways to satisfy the education requirement for a North Carolina broker license, including:
- Completing an equivalent course in another state
- Completing equivalent education, for example earning an undergraduate degree in real estate
- Holding a current salesperson or broker license from another state
The Licensing Process
Want to see how the licensing process works from start to finish? Take a look:
Post-Licensing Education Requirements
When you get your license in North Carolina, you start as what’s known as a “provisional broker.” In order to graduate to broker, you need to complete another 90 hours of education. Within 18 months of getting your provisional broker license, you need to finish three courses:
- Post 301: Broker Relationships and Responsibilities (30 hours)
- Post 302: Contracts and Closing (30 hours)
- Post 303: NC Laws, Rules, and Legal Concepts (30 hours)
Want to learn more about what it’s like to work in real estate? Check out our blog!