Real estate agents in Florida are required to renew their licenses every two years. The first time you have to renew it requires a little additional work compared to the renewals going forwards. Your license expires between 18 and 24 months after you first acquire it depending on when you took your exam. Be prepared on how to renew it, so you don't lose it.
Florida Post-License Renewal
The first time you have to renew your real estate license, you have to take 45 credit hours of classes if you are a sales associate, or 60 hours if you are a broker. The only time you do not have to take this initial course work is if you have completed a four-year degree in real estate. The 45 or 60 hours of courses build new knowledge on top of what you learned in your pre-license courses.
Classes are taken through accredited online schools or trade schools. On top of the costs of the classes, you have to pay a flat renewal fee of $32 for sale associates and $36 for brokers. You can choose from a wide range of topics. Here are the possible courses you can take according to Florida law:
Real estate appraisal
Real estate finance
The economics of real estate management
Real estate marketing
Real estate technology
Sales and listing of properties
Business office management
Courses teaching practical real estate application skills
Development of business plans
Marketing of property
Make sure you complete these classes before your license expires, or you will be back to square one. You will have to retake the pre-license courses, retake the exam, and do the renewal coursework again.
Continuing Education in Florida
Two years after you complete your post-license renewal, you have to complete continuing education classes. These classes are only 14 total credit hours, unlike the 45 or 60 for the post-license renewal. The 14 hours are split into two categories: six mandatory credit hours and eight elective credit hours.
Mandatory Florida CE Classes
There are two mandatory classes that you have to take when you are continuing your education. They are core law and ethics and business practices. Both of these are three credit hours.
Core law keeps you up to date on the constantly changing laws of real estate. It will help you avoid making any mistakes that will penalize you in your practice. Ethics and business practices covers any of the ethical situations you may encounter in your practice.
Elective Florida CE Classes
You have a myriad of options when it comes to completing your eight hours of elective credits. You can pick different classes every two years as well, instead of always having to take the same two mandatory classes. These classes range from 3-4 credit hours and include some of the following options:
Advocating for Short Sale Clients
Assistance Animals and Fair Housing
Second Home Ownership
Taxes and Real Estate
Now that you know the differences between the first license renewal period compared to the second, you can schedule a class at the Aceable Real Estate School. The Aceable Real Estate School will give you all of the tools you need to succeed in getting your Florida real estate license. Tools like practice exams, narrated courses, webinars, and private tutoring will make learning easy.