How Do You Become a Real Estate Broker in Virginia?
You’ve been a Virginia real estate salesperson for a while, and now you want to become a Virginia real estate broker. Here’s the how-to.
Virginia Real Estate Salesperson vs. Virginia Real Estate Broker
In case you need a refresher on the difference between these two Virginia real estate licenses, here it is!
A salesperson is a real estate license holder who is associated with a licensed broker and performs real estate brokerage acts on the broker’s behalf.
A broker, on the other hand, is a person or business entity who is licensed to represent one of the parties in a real estate transaction in exchange for a commission or other valuable consideration. Brokers supervise salespersons and associate brokers.
Associate brokers have the same qualifications as brokers and even take the same coursework and qualifying exam. The difference is that an associate broker opts to work under another broker and does not supervise agents.
If you want to know more about the different Virginia real estate licenses, check out this page.
Virginia Real Estate Broker Requirements
Virginia real estate broker applicants must: Be at least 18 years old. Have a reputation of being honest, trustworthy, and competent. Have a high school degree or an equivalent certificate. Be in good standing, meaning you don't have a past real estate license that has been suspended, surrendered, or revoked as a result of disciplinary action or unpaid fees. You also need to have a clear criminal history. If you are not in good standing with a previous license or have a criminal history, it’s up to the Virginia Real Estate Board (REB) to decide if you should get a license. Meet the pre-license education requirements of 180 hours. Have held an active salesperson license for 36 of the past 48 months. This experience must be confirmed by your supervising broker. The Virginia Real Estate Board can waive this requirement if they choose to do so.
If you got your real estate salesperson experience in another state, that's fine. Just provide official proof of your license history from that state when you apply. That documentation should be recent and make it clear that your license was active, not inactive.
Process for Getting Your Virginia Real Estate Broker License
That’s it for the basic requirements. Here’s the step-by-step process!
Note that the Real Estate Board will only issue a broker license to the place of business of the firm or sole proprietorship where the broker is active and that the fee for a broker application is $190.
Pre-License Courses for Virginia Real Estate Broker License
As you can see from the graphic, aspiring brokers will need to take the broker's pre-license courses which are approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board. Applicants need 180 hours of coursework, which is quite a bit more than the 60-hour salesperson course (which would not count toward the broker education requirement, in case you’re curious).
Broker applicants need to pass a Real Estate Brokerage course, plus one of the following: The three broker-specific courses of Real Estate Appraisal, Real Estate Finance, and Real Estate Law OR Two of the broker-specific courses above plus a broker-related course (some options are Real Estate Contract Law, Real Estate Math, Real Estate Property Management, and many more!) Virginia gives you a few options for the broker education requirement. Broker courses that are approved by another state may count. Or, you can get your education hours at an accredited college, university, or community college. To qualify, a course must be at least 45 hours (3 semester hours). Additionally, the course must involve a monitored, written final exam.
Virginia Real Estate Broker Examination and License Application
Want to know the nitty-gritty details about the broker examination test and license application? Go to this page for more information.