How To Renew Your Texas Real Estate License

It’s one of the most common questions we answer here at Aceable. In fact, we field a lot of questions about continuing education and the requirements of keeping a license.

What do I need to renew my real estate license in TX?

Once every two years every agent (and broker) has to renew their license if they want it to remain active. There are stipulations in regards to when you can renew before or after your license expires. There are also continuing education requirements that have to be met before you can renew.

Let’s take a closer look at continuing education. Even with our TREC-approved continuing education courses you still need to plan in advance so your license doesn’t lapse.

Ready to renew your Texas real estate license?

Get your required continuing education courses with AceableAgent today

Continuing Your Education Before Renewing Your License

TREC wants to make sure Texas real estate agents stay at the top of their game. Continuing education is one way the organization ensures you know your stuff.

If it’s time to renew your real estate license, you’ll need to complete 18 hours of continuing education, including:

  • 4 hours of TREC's Legal Update I: Laws, Rules, and Forms.
  • 4 hours of TREC's Legal Update II: Agency, Ethics, and Hot Topics.
  • 3 hours from a TREC-approved contracts-related course.
  • 7 hours of elective courses.
  • Were you named a supervisor at your brokerage? Then you may need to take the 6 hour Broker Responsibility Course before renewal.
  • Pay the renewal fee before your license expires. The quickest way is to renew online.

Once you’re done with your continuing education you’ll need to submit the course completion documents before applying to renew your real estate license. If not, you’ll have to pay the CE Deferral Fee ($200). The fee essentially buys you an extra 60 days to complete the required courses.

Did you miss the deadline for renewal? If your license expired six months to two years ago you’ll have to apply for reinstatement and complete the education requirements.

Looking for your Texas SAE courses instead?

If you're renewing your license for the first time, you'll need to take the 98-hour Sales Agent Apprentice Education Courses. We've got you covered!

Special Notice for Brokers

If you’re a broker that needs to renew a license the requirements and renewal process are very similar. However, there’s one distinct difference. You’ll still need to complete 18 hours of continuing education, but the 6-hour Broker Responsibility Course must be taken if you sponsor a sales agent, are a supervisor of other license holders or is a designated broker for a business entity broker that sponsors sales agents.

Learn more about our CE and SAE courses and get exclusive offers