If you want to become a real estate agent in Virginia, one of the first things you need to do is complete your 60-hour pre-licensing course. Besides that, you'll need to be at least 18 years old and have a high school degree. Once you complete the course, you can apply to take the exam and be on your way to your new career.
But what will you learn in the pre-licensing course? Here's what you can expect.
What Does the Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course in Virginia Cover?
First things first, you'll need to find an approved real estate course provider. Once you find one, you can start the 60-hour course. But what if you don't want to go to an in-person class? No worries, you can also find courses available through distance learning instruction. What's included? According to the DPOR, you can expect to learn the following:
Property ownership: Learn about real vs. personal property, land characteristics, and more.
Land use controls and regulations: Learn about government rights to land and controls.
Valuation and market analysis: Learn about appraisals, estimating value, and market analysis.
Financing: Learn basic concepts of financing, loan types, and lending laws.
General principles of agency: Learn about an agent's duty to various parties and more.
Property disclosures: Understand necessary property disclosures.
Contracts: Learn the ins and outs of real estate contracts (clauses, laws, types).
Leasing and property management: Learn about lease agreements, landlord/tenant rights, and more.
Transfer of title: Learn about title insurance, deeds, tax implications, and more.
The practice of real estate: Learn about advertising, technology, antitrust laws, and more.
Real estate calculations: Learn math concepts and calculations for transactions.
Licensing: Understand the qualifications and requirements, license types, and more.
Escrow accounts: Learn the state laws related to escrow accounts.
Disclosure requirements: Learn about state requirements for property disclosures.
Agency definition and relationships: Learn about the state's stance on agency duties.
Virginia Fair Housing Laws and Regulations: Learn the laws related to fair housing.
State-specific laws: Learn acts related to real estate that have passed in Virginia.
Learning this content is necessary to prepare you for the Virginia license examination. Once you pass, you can apply for your license. Next, you will need to complete the 30-hour post-license education (PLE)within one year.
What Courses Do You Need to Become a Real Estate Broke in Virginia?
Interested in becoming a real estate broker in the state of Virginia? You'll still need to be at least 18 years old with a high school degree. Further, you'll need to first earn your real estate salesperson's license. Then, you'll need to engage in real estate full-time for 36 out of the 48 months before applying. Additionally, you'll need to complete the 180 hours of education, which includes:
A 45-hour course on real estate appraisals.
A 45-hour course on real estate brokerages.
A 45-hour course on real estate finance.
A 45-hour course on real estate law.
You'll also need to pass the real estate broker qualifying exam to apply for your broker's license.
Get Started With Your Virginia Real Estate License
Ready to jump-start your real estate career in Virginia? It's never been easier. You can take your 60-hour pre-licensing course without ever leaving your house! Aceable Agent provides a Virginia-board-approved program that you can start today online. Plus, if you don't pass the pre-licensing exam within three tries, you get your money back. Get started today!