Can you take your out-of-state real estate license to Virginia? Yes! But there are some rules. Let’s talk about it.
What Is Reciprocity?
Reciprocity is a licensing agency's recognition of another state's licensing process and willingness to accept it as a full or partial replacement for their own licensing requirements.
It allows license holders to transfer their license to another state, though some states, like Virginia, still require reciprocal applicants to take the state portion of the licensing exam. More on that in a moment.
Who Is Eligible for License Reciprocity in Virginia?
License holders in good standing in any other U.S. state can apply for reciprocity in Virginia. What does good standing mean? In this context, it means an active license with no outstanding disciplinary actions or investigations.
Applicants will have to supply proof of their licensure and standing in their home state before they can get a Virginia license.
Both brokers and sales associates can apply for a reciprocal license, but you can’t level up through the reciprocity process. So, for example, if a Maryland sales associate wants a Virginia broker license, they have to undergo the same broker licensing process as normal applicants. They would only be eligible for a reciprocal sales associate license.
How Does Reciprocity Work in Virginia? Six Steps
The Virginia reciprocal licensing process does require the applicant to do a few things to qualify. Here are the six steps to a reciprocal license in Virginia.
Check for minimum eligibility: An applicant must be at least 18, have a high school diploma or the equivalent, and be able to pass a criminal background check.
Submit proof of their current (not lapsed, expired, or suspended!) real estate license. They should be in good standing. Additionally, brokers must have proof of their qualifying experience.
Sign a statement that they read and understood the relevant chapters of the Code of Virginia.
No more than 12 months before applying, applicants must pass a written exam on Virginia real estate license law and board regulations. (This is the state portion of the exam; they can skip the national portion.) They must follow all the testing rules.
They must submit the application and associated fee. It's $150 for salespersons and $190 for brokers.
Finally, the licensee needs to secure a sponsoring broker (unless the applicant is a broker themselves).
Want to learn more about life as a real estate agent? Check out our Virginia career center.