Ready to get your Virginia real estate license? Let’s break down which courses you need to take.
Types of Virginia Real Estate Licenses
Your first important decision is what kind of Virginia real estate license to get. This will dictate what kind of coursework you’ll need to do.
There are three main types of real estate licenses in Virginia: broker, salesperson, and firm.
A salesperson is a real estate license holder who works for a licensed broker and performs real estate brokerage acts on that broker’s behalf. A salesperson cannot accept compensation from anyone except their own broker.
If you are just beginning your Virginia real estate career, this is the real estate license for you!
A broker is licensed to represent one of the parties in a real estate transaction in exchange for a commission or other valuable consideration. Brokers supervise salespersons and associate brokers and are responsible for their activities.
Associate brokers have the same qualifications as brokers. They even take the same coursework and exam. The difference is that an associate broker chooses to work under another broker and does not act in a supervisory capacity for other agents.
A firm is an association, partnership, or corporation. A firm is not owned by a broker and has to obtain a separate brokerage firm license.
If you want to know more about the different Virginia real estate licenses, check out this page.
Virginia Real Estate License: Salesperson Courses
Virginia Real Estate License: Broker Courses
If you want to be a broker, you’ll need to take the broker's pre-license courses approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board. Broker applicants take 180 hours of coursework, which is significantly more than the 60-hour salesperson course (which wouldn't count toward the broker education requirement, by the way).
Broker applicants must pass a Real Estate Brokerage course, plus one of the following: The three broker-specific courses of Real Estate Appraisal, Real Estate Finance, and Real Estate Law OR Two of the broker-specific courses above and a broker-related course (your options will include Real Estate Contract Law, Real Estate Math, Real Estate Property Management, Real Estate Investments, Real Estate Economics, and many more!)
When it comes to the broker education requirement, Virginia gives you a couple of options. Broker courses approved by another state may count toward the education requirement. Or, you can get your hours at an accredited college, university, or community college. A course must be at least 45 hours (3 semester hours). Finally, the course must include a monitored, written final exam.