What is Real Estate SAE?

Salesperson Apprentice Education (SAE) courses are required for agents renewing their licenses for the first time.
Learn more about real estate licensing and get exclusive offers

As a real estate agent, you are required to renew your license every two years. In order to renew your license, you must first complete continuing education courses. This ensures that you are capable of delivering competent, quality and ethical real estate services.

If you are preparing to renew your real estate license for the first time, you may have already heard of the SAE. In this post, we will define what the SAE is, what information it covers, and when and how you can take it.

What is SAE?

A typical Salesperson Apprentice Education (SAE) course includes 90 hours of qualifying real estate education and is required for agents renewing their licenses for the first time.

What does it cover?

Most SAE course packages will cover Texas sales and marketing, property management (including maintenance, accounting, administrative, legal activities, and federal regulations), and essentials of real estate investment in Texas. Most programs also allow you to choose additional electives, like real estate law and brokerage.

When can I take it?

The Texas Real Estate Commission will send you a license renewal notice about 90 days before your expiration date. You cannot renew your license until you receive this notice of renewal. You may renew your license up to six months after the expiration date.

Once you have taken the course, submit qualifying course completion documents to TREC at least 10 days before renewing your license.

Where do I take an SAE course?

Many SAE courses are available either online or as study-at-home packages. Check with your closest real estate school to see if they offer SAE courses that fit your learning school. You will also want to check the school's accreditation. Not all courses are created equal. so you may want to read reviews from previous students.

Additional requirements

As of January 1, 2016, TREC now requires all licensed salespersons to complete 8-Hours of Legal Update credit with every renewal. Most courses come with these additional credits, which include 4 hours of TREC's Legal Update I, and 4 hours of TREC's Legal Update II.