How Long is Your Real Estate License Good For in Texas?
Your real estate license is good for two years in Texas.
To keep your Texas real estate license continually active, you simply need to renew your license every two years.
Two years is a good timeframe. It’s long enough to keep the process from being much of a hassle, but short enough to allow the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) to confirm that agents remain up-to-date on changing industry conditions through ongoing education.
Education Requirements for Renewing Your Real Estate License
Ongoing education is an important part of the real estate license renewal process. These courses give agents a chance to expand their knowledge of the ever-evolving industry, learn new skills, and get updates on changes in real estate law.
The education requirements depend on whether this is your first renewal period or a subsequent renewal period.
During your first renewal period, you’ll need to meet the Sales Apprentice Education (SAE) requirements. And for all renewal periods after your first renewal, you’ll need to meet the Continuing Education (CE) requirements.
Sales Agent Apprentice Education (SAE)
Your SAE requirements consist of 98 credit hours (online or on campus), including:
- Legal Update I
- Legal Update II
- Three 30-hour SAE electives (including a Broker’s Responsibilities course for Brokers)
Unfortunately, AceableAgent doesn’t offer an SAE course package (yet!). But you can find a qualified real estate school on the TREC website .
Continuing Education (CE)
Your CE requirements consist of 18 credit hours, including:
- Legal Update I
- Legal Update II
- Ten hours of SAE electives (including a Broker’s Responsibilities course for Brokers).
AceableAgent offers a complete CE package you can do entirely online! AceableAgent will even transfer your course completion confirmation to TREC for you.
But don’t wait until the last minute! To make sure TREC has enough time to process your education confirmation before processing your renewal, you should complete your education requirements at least 10 days before your real estate license expires.
Cost of Renewing Your Real Estate License
As long as you file your renewal paperwork on time, the real estate license renewal fee is just $110 for a sales agent or $217 for a broker.
The Importance of Renewing on Time
It is imperative that you renew on time. Failure to do so will cost you! If you miss your renewal date, you can pay a $200 deferral fee to buy an additional 60 days. Or you have the option to enter “inactive” status. You can renew from inactive status, but you cannot practice real estate while in inactive status, so your business would be on hold.
You have up to six months to complete the renewal process after your license expires. After that 6 months, you can apply for reinstatement of your license (at a current cost of $217 in addition to all other renewal fees) for up to two years. If you allow your real estate license to remain expired for two years, you will need to retake the state real estate exam and reapply for your real estate license.
- Complete your education requirements well before your renewal date.
- Wait 10 days to give TREC enough time to process the completion of your education.
- Apply for your renewal (you can apply for your renewal as early as 90 days before your real estate license is scheduled to expire).
Don’t put this off! Sign up for your CE courses today!